Press Releases

Bookmark and Share

Rep. Tom Graves Introduces Plan To Keep Government Open, Stop Obamacare

Washington, September 12, 2013 -

Today, U.S. Rep. Tom Graves (R-GA-14) introduced the Stability, Security and Fairness Resolution, a plan to fund the government for Fiscal Year 2014 while fully delaying and defunding Obamacare until 2015

“After weeks of working with and listening to members on how to approach the government funding deadline, it’s clear that House Republicans are united around two goals: keeping the government open and protecting our constituents from the harmful effects of Obamacare. Today, my 42 cosponsors and I are putting forward a plan that achieves both goals,” said Rep. Graves.

“This plan is straightforward. We will achieve long-term stability by funding the government for the next fiscal year. Additionally, the resolution includes the three House-passed appropriations bills that affect our national security and our veterans. Our troops, their families and our veterans should not have their priorities put on hold,” Graves continued. “Finally, our plan will achieve fairness for every American by fully delaying and defunding Obamacare until 2015. This approach builds upon the Obama Administration’s policy of delaying portions of Obamacare and relieves taxpayers of the burden of funding a program that is not being implemented.”

Stability, Security and Fairness Resolution Summary

Stability: Keeps the government open for FY2014.

· A Continuing Resolution for FY2014 for the nine non-security bills, with overall spending for the entire bill, security and non-security, at the post-sequestration number of $967.4 billion.

Security: Prioritizes funding for national security and veterans.

· Includes the Defense, Homeland Security and Military Construction and Veterans Affairs appropriations bills for FY2014 as passed by the House.

Fairness: Provides healthcare fairness and taxpayer relief by defunding and delaying Obamacare until 2015.

Original cosponsors of the resolution are:

Jim Jordan (OH-4)

Mark Meadows (NC-11)

Jeff Duncan (SC-3)

Steve Southerland (FL-2)

Doug Collins (GA-9)

Raúl Labrador (ID-1)

Trey Gowdy (SC-4)

Randy Weber (TX-14)

Pete Olson (TX-22)

Tom Marino (PA-10)

Steve Palazzo (MS-4)

Joe Pitts (PA-16)

Paul Broun (GA-10)

Matt Salmon (AZ-5)

Jim Sensenbrenner (WI-5)

Richard Hudson (NC-8)

Jeb Hensarling (TX-5)

Ron DeSantis (FL-6)

Lynn Westmoreland (GA-3)

Thomas Massie (KY-4)

Phil Gingrey (GA-11)

Jim Bridenstine (OK-1)

Mo Brooks (AL-5)

Bill Cassidy (LA-6)

Randy Neugebauer (TX-19)

David Schweikert (AZ-6)

Scott Perry (PA-4)

Blake Farenthold (TX-27)

Bill Huizenga (MI-2)

Luke Messer (IN-6)

Bill Flores (TX-17)

Mick Mulvaney (SC-5)

Tim Huelskamp (KS-1)

Steve Daines (MT)

Joe Wilson (SC-2)

Marsha Blackburn (TN-7)

Reid Ribble (WI-8)

Tom Price (GA-6)

Austin Scott (GA-8)

Marlin Stutzman (IN-3)

Trent Franks (AZ-8)

Steve Chabot (OH-1)

Additional cosponsors since the bill was introduced (NOTE: This section will be updated as members sign on.):

Added 9/16/13: Reps. Michael McCaul (TX), Candice Miller (MI), Scott Garrett (NJ), Tom Cotton (AR), Larry Bucshon (IN), Chris Stewart (UT), Trey Radel (FL), Lee Terry (NE), Cynthia Lummis (WY), Dennis Ross (FL), Tom Reed (NY), Roger Williams (TX), Brad Wenstrup (OH), Ted Poe (TX), Mike Pompeo (KS), Paul Gosar (AZ), Bob Gibbs (OH).

Added 9/17/13: Reps. Doug Lamborn (CO), Doug LaMalfa (CA), Mac Thornberry (TX), Michele Bachmann (MN), Stephen Fincher (TN), Jack Kingston (GA), Kerry Bentivolio (MI), Michael Burgess (TX), Kenny Marchant (TX), Jackie Walorski (IN), Andy Harris (MD).


Print version of this document